Section 4 Symbols and abbreviations

The following symbols and abbreviations are used in this part of the Standard.

ACR : American College of Radiology

AE : Application Entity

ANSI : American National Standards Institute

CEN TC251 : Comite Europeen de Normalisation - Technical Committee 251 - Healthcare Informatics

DICOM : Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine

HISPP : Healthcare Information Standards Planning Panel

HL7 : Healthcare Industry Level 7 Interface Standards

IEEE : Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

IOD : Information Object Definition

ISO : International Standards Organization

JPEG : Joint Photographic Experts Group

JIRA : Japan Industries Association of Radiological Systems

MPEG : Moving Picture Experts Group

MSDS : Healthcare Message Standard Developers Sub-Committee

NEMA : National Electrical Manufacturers Association

OSI : Open Systems Interconnection

RLE : Run Length Encoding

TCP/IP : Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol

UID : Unique Identifier

SOP : Service-Object Pair

UTC : Coordinated Universal Time

VM : Value Multiplicity

VR : Value Representation