4 Symbols and abbreviations

The following symbols and abbreviations are used in this Part of the Standard.

ANSI American National Standards Institute

CDA Clinical Document Architecture (HL7)

DICOM Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine

HL7 Health Level 7

HMD Hierarchical Message Description (HL7)

II Instance Identifier (HL7)

IOD Information Object Definition

ISO International Standards Organization

NEMA National Electrical Manufacturers Association

OID Object Identifier (ISO 8824)

SNOMED Systematized Nomenclature of Medicine

SR Structured Reporting

UCUM Unified Code for Units of Measure

UID Unique Identifier

XML Extensible Markup Language