4 Symbols and abbreviations

The following symbols and abbreviations are used in this Part of the Standard.

ACR American College of Radiology

AE Application Entity

AES Advanced Encryption Standard

ANSI American National Standards Institute

CEN TC251 Comite European de Normalisation-Technical Committee 251-Medical Informatics

CBC Cipher Block Chaining

CCIR Consultative Committee, International Radio

CN Common Name

DES Data Encryption Standard

DHCP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol

DICOM Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine

DN Distinguished Name

DNS Domain Name System

DDNS Dynamic Domain Name System

ECMA European Computer Manufacturers Association

EDE Encrypt-Decrypt-Encrypt

HL7 Health Level 7

IEC International Electrical Commission

IEEE Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

IETF Internet Engineering Task Force

IOD Information Object Definition

ISCL Integrated Secure Communication Layer

ISO International Standards Organization

JIRA Japan Industries Association of Radiological Systems

LDAP Lightweight Directory Access Protocol

LDIF LDAP Interchange Format

MAC Message Authentication Code

MD-5 Message Digest - 5

MEDIS-DC Medical Information System Development Center

MTU Maximum Transmission Unit

NEMA National Electrical Manufacturers Association

NTP Network Time Protocol

OID Object Identifier (analogous to UID)

PDU Protocol Data Unit

RDN Relative Distinguished Name

RFC Request For Comment (used for standards issued by the IETF)

RR Resource Record (when used in the context of DNS)

RSA Rivest-Shamir-Adleman

SCP Service Class Provider

SCU Service Class User

SHA Secure Hash Algorithm

SNTP Simple Network Time Protocol

SOP Service-Object Pair

SSH Secure Shell

SSL Secure Sockets Layer

TLS Transport Layer Security

UID Unique Identifier

UTC Universal Coordinated Time